Term Of The Day – Maryland
The State Of Maryland claims a first in Workers Comp. This post is more of a question and answer – What state was the first to enact Workers Compensation laws?
Maryland enacted the first set of Workers Comp laws in 1902.
All states had Workers Comp laws by 1942.
Maryland was not the first place to have Workers Comp laws enacted – Germany was the first in 1884. The Sickness Insurance law paid indemnity to all private wage earners and apprentices, including those who work in the agricultural and horticultural sectors and marine industries, family helpers and students with work related injuries, for up to 13 weeks (for the first 4 weeks at 50 % of prior wages, from the fifth week on the benefit was 66.7 % with 50 % paid by the sickness fund and 16.7 % by the accident fund). Workers who are totally disabled get the benefits at 67 % after this 13 week period that is paid by the accident funds, financed entirely by employers. The German compensation system has been taken as a model for many nations.
These old German laws are striking as there are so many state Workers Comp laws which are still very similar.